Manulife review
Wellness rewards & buy-online or advisor
Our rating · #1 of 10 for life insurance
At a glance
The bottom line
Manulife is Canada’s largest life insurer, with top-tier A+ (Superior) strength and the widest product-plus-wellness ecosystem — term, participating whole life, universal life, no-medical, and the distinctive Manulife Vitality program that can cut premiums for engaged, healthy clients. Uniquely, you can buy online (CoverMe) or through an advisor. The trade-offs: direct/no-medical pricing sits above fully underwritten, and Vitality adds complexity.
- Wellness rewards & buy-online or advisor
- Direct / no-medical priced above underwritten
The expert assessment
How our analysts score Manulife’s life insurance — 88/100 across six weighted pillars.
Also DBRS AA. Canada’s largest life insurer.
Source: https://news.ambest.com/PR/PressContent.aspx?refnum=36875
What experts like
- Largest insurer, A+ (Superior) financial strength
- Unique Vitality wellness program can lower premiums
- Buy fully online or through an advisor
Watch-outs
- Direct / no-medical priced above underwritten
- Vitality mechanics add complexity
What the regulators' filings say about Manulife
Not ratings or reviews: the numbers Manulife's underwriting companies file with OSFI and the provincial rate regulators, read straight from the public record.
Manufacturers Life kept 20.1% of premiums after claims and expenses in 2025. Its LICAT ratio is above OSFI's 100% supervisory target and higher than a year earlier. All life & health insurers →
What Manulife's travel insurance policy wording actually says
Read from Manulife Emergency Medical policy for travelling Canadians (Effective October 2023 (form EMP-1023E)), not the brochure. Each answer is the contract's own sentence with its page number.
- Stability period
- Rate category A and ages 59 and younger: 3 months; rate categories B and C: 6 months. No buy-down in this document.
Read the clause
“Rate Category A & Ages 59 and younger We do not pay any expenses related to: • Any pre-existing condition that was not stable in the 3 months before your effective date ... Rate Category B & C We do not pay any expenses related to: • Any pre-existing condition that was not stable in the 6 months before your effective date”
p. 8 - Call-before-treatment rule and penalty
- Call before treatment; otherwise you pay 25% of covered expenses
Read the clause
“Otherwise, if you do not call the Assistance Centre before you obtain emergency treatment you will be responsible for 25% of your medical expenses covered under this insurance.”
p. 6 - Pregnancy exclusion
- 9 weeks before and 9 weeks after the expected delivery date
Read the clause
“Pregnancy, delivery, or complications of either, arising 9 weeks before the expected date of delivery or 9 weeks after”
p. 9 - Government travel advisory
- 'Avoid non-essential travel' or 'avoid all travel' issued before the effective date is excluded; unrelated claims still covered
Read the clause
“Any act of terrorism or any medical condition you suffer or contract when an official travel advisory was issued by the Canadian government stating to Avoid non-essential travel or to Avoid all travel regarding the country, region, or city of your destination, before your effective date.”
p. 9 - Mental health
- Minor mental or emotional disorders excluded
Read the clause
“Any loss that results from your minor mental or emotional disorder.”
p. 9 - Claim deadline
- 90 days; up to 12 months in some cases; never after 12 months
Read the clause
“You must send written proof, a completed claim form, and any other information we ask for within 90 days of the event that results in the claim. In some cases, we accept claims up to 12 months after the event. We do not accept any claims after 12 months.”
p. 10
All 13 questions for Manulife, and the same questions for 8 other insurers →
What Manulife's health insurance policy wording actually says
Read from Manulife FlexCare Health and Dental Plan sample policy (with Vitality) (MF_FlexCare_With_Vitality_Contract_E_0521 (May 2021); the schedule of benefits is not in the sample, so tier figures are quoted from Manulife's FlexCare (2022) and FollowMe (2024) brochures and flagged), not the brochure. Each answer is the contract's own sentence with its page number.
- No-medical-questions option
- FollowMe Health: no medical questions if you apply within 90 days of your group plan ending
Read the clause
“You can apply for FollowMe Health without answering any medical questions at the time of application, as long as: You are a Canadian resident. You apply within 90 days of your group health plan end date.”
p. 13 - Pre-existing conditions
- Contract: not stated. Brochure: underwriting may adjust, modify or decline coverage on medical history
Read the clause
“The premium charged and/or benefits offered could be subject to adjustment or modification of coverage, or declined based on your or your family’s medical background.”
p. 20 - Dental waiting periods
- Contract: not stated. Brochure: Enhanced major restorative pays 0% in year 1, 60% from year 2
Read the clause
“Year 1: 0%; Year 2+: 60%”
p. 9 - Dental maximum and coinsurance
- ComboPlus Basic (brochure): $750 a year for ongoing maintenance; oral surgery and major combined $1,250 per three years with a $400 year-one cap
Read the clause
“Combined maximum for oral surgery, periodontics, endodontics and major restorative of $1,250 per 3 consecutive years, with a year 1 combined maximum of $400.”
p. 9 - Premium changes
- 30 days' notice; premiums also vary with Vitality status
Read the clause
“We reserve the right to change premiums required for this policy. If we do, we’ll give you 30 days notice.”
p. 5 - Coverage ends at
- No policy age stated; travel ends at 70
Read the clause
“when coverage expires on your 70th birthday.”
p. 16
All 13 questions for Manulife, and the same questions for 6 other insurers →
Manulife life insurance in detail
Scored on our life insurance Expert Score — see the full life insurance ranking.
Ranked #1 of 10 life insurance providers we rate
4.4Good for wellness rewards & buy-online or advisor
Manulife is Canada’s largest life insurer, with top-tier A+ (Superior) strength and the widest product-plus-wellness ecosystem — term, participating whole life, universal life, no-medical, and the distinctive Manulife Vitality program that can cut premiums for engaged, healthy clients. Uniquely, you can buy online (CoverMe) or through an advisor. The trade-offs: direct/no-medical pricing sits above fully underwritten, and Vitality adds complexity.
- Largest insurer, A+ (Superior) financial strength
- Unique Vitality wellness program can lower premiums
- Buy fully online or through an advisor
- Direct / no-medical priced above underwritten
- Vitality mechanics add complexity
How to buy Manulife life insurance
Two separate channels. Fully underwritten Family Term and permanent plans go through licensed advisors or brokers, with a medical exam and typical multi-week underwriting. The CoverMe line is bought directly online at coverme.com — ages 18 to 70, up to $250,000 of instant coverage with no medical exam for ages 18 to 55. Manulife also fields its own advisors by phone.
Manulife life insurance plans
Family Term
Manulife's flagship fully underwritten term. Coverage $100,000 to $20,000,000, terms of 10 or 20 years or to age 65. Renewable and convertible to permanent coverage. Medical exam required. Includes a cash advance on terminal illness diagnosis and family bereavement counselling up to $1,000.
Best for Families needing large, convertible term coverage who are comfortable with an advisor and a medical exam.
Not for Anyone shopping purely on price, since PolicyAdvisor flags Manulife term as costlier than comparable market products.
Family Term with Vitality Plus
The same term chassis with Manulife's wellness program attached for roughly $6 per month. Coverage $250,000 to $25,000,000, terms of 10 or 20 years or to age 65 or 100. Tracked healthy activity earns lower premiums, gift cards and reduced management fees via the Vitality app.
Best for Active buyers who will genuinely log workouts and want premiums that respond to behaviour.
Not for People who will not use a tracking app, who simply pay $6 a month for nothing.
CoverMe Term Life (Term 10)
Direct-to-consumer term sold online with no advisor. Coverage $100,000 to $1,000,000, 10-year term renewable to age 85, issue ages 18 to 70. Up to $250,000 instant coverage with no medical exam for ages 18 to 55. Convertible before age 70.
Best for Buyers who want coverage bound quickly online without a medical exam or an advisor meeting.
Not for Price-sensitive buyers — CoverMe carries noticeably higher premiums than advisor-sold Family Term.
Manulife Par (participating whole life)
Participating whole life with a $100,000 minimum and Life Pay, 10 Pay or 20 Pay premium schedules. Builds guaranteed cash value plus dividend potential. Fully underwritten and advisor-sold. Manulife also offers Performax Gold, a non-participating whole life with a lower $25,000 minimum and Life Pay or 15 Pay options.
Best for Estate and business planning where the buyer wants dividend participation and a permanent guarantee.
Not for Anyone whose need is pure income replacement for 20 years — term costs a fraction of this.
Universal life (InnoVision, Security UL, Manulife UL)
Three universal life chassis with different minimums: InnoVision at $100,000 with more than 50 investment options, Security UL at $50,000, and Manulife UL at $50,000 to $100,000. Manulife UL is also available with Vitality Plus. Flexible premiums and death benefit, fully underwritten.
Best for Investment-literate buyers who want permanent coverage with hands-on control of the investment account.
Not for Buyers who want a guaranteed, set-and-forget outcome without monitoring policy funding.
What Manulife life insurance costs
Price is driven by age, sex at birth, smoking status and health, and Manulife underwrites fully on Family Term. PolicyAdvisor's own verdict is that Manulife term pricing sits above comparable products in the market — you are paying for the feature set and the Vitality option, not for the lowest rate. The CoverMe online products cost more again, because you are buying convenience and no-exam issue. Vitality Plus adds about $6 per month upfront but can reduce premiums over time for people who actually engage with it.
| Profile | Premium | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Healthy non-smoking 30-year-old male, $500,000, 20-year term | $33.83/month | View source |
| Healthy non-smoking 30-year-old female, $500,000, 20-year term | $24.85/month | View source |
| Healthy non-smoking 40-year-old male, $500,000, 20-year term | $50.07/month | View source |
| Healthy non-smoking 50-year-old male, $500,000, 20-year term | $134.20/month | View source |
| Healthy non-smoking 50-year-old female, $500,000, 20-year term | $93.01/month | View source |
Premiums are the figures published or quoted at the sources above as at September 2026. Insurance is priced individually — treat these as a realistic benchmark, not a quote.
What Manulife life insurance customers say
The public review record for Manulife is bad on its face — 1.2 out of 5 on Trustpilot across roughly 565 reviews and 1.8 out of 5 across 100 life-specific reviews on InsurEye. But read the actual text and the overwhelming majority of angry reviews describe group benefits claims, drug plans and travel claims, not individual life policies. The recurring individual-life complaint is thinner but consistent: policyholders cannot reach a servicing agent, and follow-up after a claim submission is close to non-existent.
Open-review platforms are self-selecting. Nobody logs into Trustpilot to say their term policy quietly renewed, so the sample skews to people mid-dispute — and for an insurer of Manulife's size, most disputes originate in the group benefits book, which has far more touchpoints per year than an individual life policy. InsurEye's life-specific page is the more relevant read at 1.8 out of 5, and it is still poor. Balance that against A+ from AM Best and an A- BBB rating: financial capacity to pay is not the issue, service experience is.
- Trustpilot (manulife.ca) 1.2/5 565 reviews
- InsurEye — Manulife life insurance 1.8/5 100 reviews
Read this in context: Canadian insurers cluster at 1.2–1.4 out of 5 on open review platforms almost without exception — the people motivated to post are overwhelmingly those with a claim dispute. Read this score against that category floor, not against a 5-point scale.
- Vitality rewards. Policyholders who engage with the Vitality app report tangible returns — lower premiums, gift cards and reduced management fees for tracked activity.
- Digital policy delivery. Buyers cite the e-policy and the ability to get CoverMe coverage bound online without an advisor meeting as genuinely fast.
- Product breadth. Reviewers who used an advisor note the range of riders, term structures and conversion options let them shape coverage rather than take a fixed package.
- Unreachable servicing agents. An InsurEye life reviewer wrote that 'the servicing agents are non-existent, hard to find' and that follow-up is almost non-existent.
- Claim processing delays. One reviewer reported waiting over 22 days for Manulife to process claims, and Trustpilot complaints repeatedly cite extreme delays.
- Document and tax-slip access. A policyholder of 32 years reported being unable to obtain investment documentation or tax information for their policy.
- Front-line agent knowledge. Reviewers repeatedly describe representatives giving incorrect information or being unable to answer basic policy questions.
Manulife health insurance in detail
Scored on our health insurance Expert Score — see the full health insurance ranking.
Ranked #2 of 6 health insurance providers we rate
4.3Good for the widest individual plan menu
Manulife offers the broadest individual health-and-dental menu in Canada — Flexcare, CoverMe and Follow-Me span roughly a dozen tiers (DrugPlus, DentalPlus, ComboPlus), with 24/7 TELUS Health Virtual Care bundled and a guaranteed-issue Follow-Me plan for group leavers. It’s financially top-tier and national. The catch: value varies a lot by tier, and some standalone SKUs are criticized as thin for the premium — shop the specific plan, not just the brand.
- Top-tier A+ (Superior) financial strength
- Widest individual product menu + bundled 24/7 virtual care
- Guaranteed-issue Follow-Me plan for people leaving group coverage
- Value varies widely by tier — some SKUs thin for the premium
- Individual-plan reviews are more mixed than its group book
How to buy Manulife health insurance
Direct online at manulife.ca/coverme with instant quotes, or through an advisor or broker. The decisive detail: FollowMe is guaranteed acceptance with no medical questions only if you apply within 90 days of your employer group coverage ending. Miss it and you're medically underwritten into Flexcare. Flexcare is available anytime but asks health questions; Guaranteed Issue Enhanced does not. Available across Canada, with Quebec plan variations.
Manulife health insurance plans
FollowMe Health Basic
Entry-tier group replacement. Prescription drugs at 80% coinsurance to $500/year, vision $150 per two benefit years, hospital semi-private at 50%, $100,000 extended-health lifetime maximum. No dental coverage at all. Guaranteed acceptance with no medical questions if applied within 90 days of group coverage ending.
Best for Someone who mainly wants a cheap drug-cost floor and catastrophic backstop after leaving a job.
Not for Anyone with real dental needs or drug spending above roughly $600 a year.
FollowMe Health Enhanced
Drugs at 80% to $1,500/year, vision $200 per two benefit years, hospital 100% for the first 60 days at $175/day semi-private, $200,000 extended-health lifetime maximum, medical equipment escalating $1,000 to $3,000 by year three. Still no dental. Guaranteed issue within the 90-day window.
Best for Regular prescription users who get dental cleanings out of pocket anyway.
Not for Families expecting the dental coverage their group plan included.
FollowMe Health Enhanced Plus
Adds dental to Enhanced. Drugs 80% to $1,500/year, dental at 80% on standard and extensive services with an escalating maximum of $700 year one, $850 year two, $1,000 year three onward. Vision $200 per two years, semi-private hospital $175/day. Guaranteed issue in the 90-day window.
Best for The typical group-plan leaver who wants drugs and dental in one plan.
Not for Anyone needing crowns, bridges or other major dental work.
FollowMe Health Premiere
Top tier. Drugs 80% to $2,800/year, dental 80% escalating $800/$1,000/$1,500 by year three and including major dental at 60%, vision $300 per two years, private hospital room to $200/day, $3,500 medical equipment from year one. The only benefit with a one-year waiting period is major dental on this plan.
Best for Higher drug spenders who want major dental and will hold the plan for years.
Not for Short-term bridge buyers, since the best maximums only arrive in year three.
Flexcare (ComboPlus / DentalPlus / DrugPlus) and Guaranteed Issue Enhanced
The non-conversion line, buyable anytime. ComboPlus Basic covers generic drugs at 70% to $5,000/year, dental 80% to $750/year, vision to $250 per two years, paramedical 60% to $500 per profession. Medically underwritten. Guaranteed Issue Enhanced skips underwriting with roughly $2,500 drug and $750 dental maximums.
Best for Self-employed Canadians who never had group benefits, or anyone past the 90-day FollowMe window.
Not for People who can still make the FollowMe deadline, which is the better-value route.
What Manulife health insurance costs
Priced by age band, province and household composition rather than by health status on the guaranteed-issue plans, so FollowMe rates are unusually transparent — Manulife publishes full rate sheets. Premiums step up at published age bands and, notably, drop at 65-69 when provincial senior drug programs take over the first dollar of drug cost, then climb steeply past 80. Manulife sits mid-market on price but pairs it with below-average annual maximums, so cost-per-dollar-of-coverage is only average. Vitality adds $5/month and returns 5% off premiums in year one and up to 10% after.
| Profile | Premium | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Individual 18-44, FollowMe Basic, Ontario | $89.60/month | View source |
| Individual 45-54, FollowMe Enhanced Plus, Ontario | $180.70/month | View source |
| Individual 60-64, FollowMe Premiere, Ontario | $256.30/month | View source |
| Individual 65-69, FollowMe Enhanced, Ontario | $131.70/month | View source |
| Child 0-20 (1 or 2 children), FollowMe Basic, Ontario | $27.10/month | View source |
Premiums are the figures published or quoted at the sources above as at September 2026. Insurance is priced individually — treat these as a realistic benchmark, not a quote.
What Manulife health insurance customers say
Independent review evidence on Manulife is genuinely poor, not merely noisy. InsurEye's health-insurance page averages 1.2 out of 5 across 152 reviews, with only five ratings of four stars or better in the entire sample — a lopsided distribution even by insurance standards. The consistent thread is administration: claim denials and unreachable service, rather than the plans being mispriced or the coverage being misrepresented.
Two structural effects inflate the negativity. First, most people writing about 'Manulife' are group-benefits members whose employer chose the insurer and who had no say and no exit — that is a reliably angrier population than people who shopped for and bought their own policy. Second, health and dental insurance generates a claim every few weeks, so a single insurer touches a customer far more often than a life or home policy does, and each touch is a chance to disappoint. That said, the volume and specificity of the claims-processing complaints are too consistent to write off as venue bias, and Manulife's own A- BBB grade sits well above what its customer reviews suggest. Note that Trustpilot also carries a large, similarly negative Manulife page, but its exact rating and review count could not be independently verified for this review because Trustpilot blocks automated access, so no Trustpilot figure is cited here.
- InsurEye (Manulife health insurance) 1.2/5 152 reviews
Read this in context: Canadian insurers cluster at 1.2–1.4 out of 5 on open review platforms almost without exception — the people motivated to post are overwhelmingly those with a claim dispute. Read this score against that category floor, not against a 5-point scale.
- Fast electronic claims. The digital claims submission and direct-deposit reimbursement are the one thing reviewers repeatedly say works smoothly.
- Guaranteed acceptance. Customers with pre-existing conditions value being accepted into FollowMe without medical questions when leaving a group plan.
- Extras bundled in. Reviewers note the included TELUS Health Virtual Care access, AD&D and the Vitality premium discount as genuine add-ons rather than filler.
- Transparent published rates. Buyers appreciate being able to see full age-banded rate tables and get an online quote without talking to anyone.
- Claim denials. Reviewers repeatedly report claims rejected for expenses they believed were plainly covered, with unclear reasoning.
- Unreachable service. One reviewer describes spending three hours on hold, being transferred, and getting disconnected on poor-quality phone lines.
- Shrinking coverage, rising price. A common complaint is that premiums rise annually while previously covered prescriptions quietly stop being covered.
- Slow processing. Members describe being told repeatedly that payment will arrive in 24 to 48 hours and then seeing nothing happen.
Manulife travel insurance in detail
Scored on our travel insurance Expert Score — see the full travel insurance ranking.
Ranked #2 of 9 travel insurance providers we rate
4.1Good for the strongest carrier & highest medical cap
Manulife CoverMe pairs a rock-solid A+ (Superior) underwriter with the highest medical ceiling in the market ($10M) and a full plan menu — emergency medical, trip cancellation, snowbird multi-trip and Visitors/Super Visa — all buyable online. The catch is real-world sentiment: third-party review scores are poor (InsurEye ~1.3/5), with recurring pre-existing/non-disclosure denial and slow-claims complaints. Accurate medical disclosure is essential to a smooth claim.
- A+ (Superior) carrier — the strongest in the category
- $10M medical cap and complete plan range
- Easy online quote and purchase, no membership
- Very low third-party review scores; denial complaints
- Strict, closely-enforced pre-existing rules
How to buy Manulife travel insurance
Buy online at coverme.com with instant issue, by phone at 1-888-881-8010, or through Manulife's association and affinity channels including CBIA and Costco, which price differently for the same underwriter. Older travellers and longer trips trigger a medical questionnaire that determines both your premium and your Rate Category. Sold Canada-wide; Quebec residents see Quebec-specific wording.
Manulife travel insurance plans
Emergency Medical Insurance (Single-Trip and Multi-Trip Annual)
Covers up to $10,000,000 CDN per insured person for emergency treatment outside your province. Stability is set by Rate Category: Category A requires the condition stable in the 3 months before your effective date; Categories B and C require 6 months, with parallel heart and lung tests. Eligibility bars anyone with terminal illness, metastatic cancer, dialysis, home oxygen in the last 12 months, or a prior transplant.
Best for Travellers who want the largest available medical limit and qualify for Rate Category A's 3-month stability window.
Not for Anyone whose questionnaire answers push them into Category B or C, where the lookback doubles to six months.
TravelEase Emergency Medical (individual medical underwriting)
Manulife's individually underwritten plan for travellers who cannot meet standard stability rules. You complete a full medical questionnaire and Manulife reviews your health history before issuing. Emergency medical still runs to $10,000,000 CDN. Because it is individually underwritten, coverage decisions and price are personal rather than banded, and it must be applied for before your departure date.
Best for Someone with an unstable or complex condition who has been declined or heavily excluded elsewhere and needs a full-limit plan.
Not for Last-minute travellers — underwriting and health-history review take time, and the application must be complete before departure.
All-Inclusive Package (Single-Trip and Multi-Trip)
Bundles the $10 million emergency medical with trip cancellation and interruption, baggage and flight benefits. Trip cancellation and interruption is capped at $3,500 for a Single-Trip All-Inclusive plan, and $3,500 per trip to a maximum of $6,000 per policy on Multi-Trip. The same Rate Category stability rules apply to the medical side.
Best for Package holidays and cruises under about $3,500 per person where one policy is simpler than three.
Not for Expensive trips — a $9,000 cruise deposit is only a third covered by the $3,500 cancellation cap.
Travel Canada Emergency Medical
Coverage for travel outside your home province but within Canada. The policy states plainly that for the Travel Canada Emergency Medical plan, no pre-existing medical condition exclusion applies — meaning the entire Rate Category stability apparatus is switched off. Fills provincial gaps such as air ambulance and out-of-province billing differences.
Best for Domestic travellers with unstable conditions who would fail every stability test on an international plan.
Not for Any trip that crosses the border, including a same-day shopping run to the US.
Visitors to Canada
Separate product line for non-residents visiting Canada, including parents and grandparents on super visas, sold with tiered coverage amounts rather than the $10 million resident limit. Priced by age, coverage amount, trip length and health status, and available with and without pre-existing condition coverage depending on the applicant's age band.
Best for Families sponsoring parents on a super visa who need proof of qualifying medical coverage.
Not for Canadian residents — this is not a substitute for a resident emergency medical policy.
What Manulife travel insurance customers say
The evidence on Manulife's claims handling is bad and consistent across independent sources: 1.3/5 from 50 reviews on InsurEye's travel-insurance-specific page, and 1.2/5 across 565 reviews on the corporate Trustpilot page. The dominant theme is not slow payment but repeated document requests followed by denial. Multiple reviewers describe submitting everything asked for and receiving a fresh reason for refusal, sent from a no-reply address with no route to respond.
Two things inflate the negativity. The Trustpilot page covers all of Manulife including group benefits, where captive employer-plan members who cannot switch providers are unusually motivated to complain. And as Canada's largest travel insurer, Manulife simply generates more claims and therefore more denials in absolute terms. But the InsurEye figure is travel-specific and still 1.3/5, and the specific complaint pattern — pre-authorisation requirements used to deny, no-reply denial notices — describes process design rather than volume. We do not think volume explains this away.
- InsurEye (Manulife travel insurance) 1.3/5 50 reviews
- Trustpilot (manulife.ca, all Manulife products) 1.2/5 565 reviews
Read this in context: Canadian insurers cluster at 1.2–1.4 out of 5 on open review platforms almost without exception — the people motivated to post are overwhelmingly those with a claim dispute. Read this score against that category floor, not against a 5-point scale.
- Individual agents rated highly. 'I am extremely happy with the professionalism of Bhenjha, she provided excellent customer service, answered all my questions and after 2 days sent me follow up emails.'
- Straightforward cancellation claims can move fast. One InsurEye reviewer described a trip cancellation processed straightforwardly with reimbursement inside two weeks — a clear minority experience on that page.
- Helpful claims discussions when you reach a person. 'Spoke with Jonathan to discuss a claim. He was very polite and helpful in answering my questions and resolving my concerns.'
- Moving goalposts on documentation. 'Even after I submit every document they request, they come back with new excuses to avoid approving the claim.'
- Denials sent from an unanswerable address. A reviewer noted denial notices arrive 'from a noreply email, which means there's no way to respond or clarify anything.'
- Pre-authorisation used against claimants. One InsurEye reviewer reported an injured hiker's evacuation costs denied because they were physically unable to call for pre-approval before treatment.
- Claims left open for months. InsurEye reviewers describe waiting close to a year for payment despite having supplied all requested documentation.
Manulife: frequently asked questions
What types of insurance does Manulife sell?
We rate Manulife for life insurance, health insurance and travel insurance. Each line is scored separately on the same six-pillar Expert Score, because a company can be strong in one and mid-pack in another — Manulife ranks #1 of 10 for life insurance, its strongest showing. The sections below break down each line on its own merits.
Can Manulife be trusted to pay out a claim?
On the evidence, yes: Manulife holds an A+ (Superior), ICR aa- financial-strength rating from AM Best (Dec 2025) — an independent agency’s verdict on its ability to pay claims. Also DBRS AA. Canada’s largest life insurer.
Who is Manulife life insurance a good fit for?
Manulife stands out for wellness rewards & buy-online or advisor. Largest insurer, A+ (Superior) financial strength, and unique Vitality wellness program can lower premiums. If those things matter most to you, it’s worth a close look; if your priority is something else, compare it against the companies that rate highest on that pillar.
What are the downsides of Manulife life insurance?
The watch-outs we found: direct / no-medical priced above underwritten; vitality mechanics add complexity. We spell these out so you can weigh them before buying — every insurer has trade-offs, and knowing them upfront is the point of a real review.
How does Manulife compare to other life insurance companies in Canada?
Manulife ranks #1 of the 10 life insurance providers we scored, at 88/100. It’s strongest on financial strength and has the most room to improve on customer satisfaction.
Is Manulife Vitality Plus actually worth the extra $6 a month on a Family Term policy?
Only if you will use it. Vitality Plus costs roughly $6 per month on top of your Family Term premium and rewards tracked healthy activity with premium reductions, gift cards and lower management fees. It is not a discount you receive automatically — you have to log activity through the app to earn status. If you already wear a fitness tracker and will sync it, the program can more than repay the $6. If you know you will stop logging after two months, buy plain Family Term and put the $6 toward more coverage instead.
What is the difference between Manulife Family Term and Manulife CoverMe?
They are two different distribution channels. Family Term is fully underwritten and advisor-sold: $100,000 to $20,000,000, terms of 10 or 20 years or to age 65, medical exam required, and it is where Manulife's competitive pricing lives. CoverMe is bought directly online with no advisor, offers a single 10-year term of $100,000 to $1,000,000 renewable to age 85, and provides up to $250,000 of instant coverage with no medical exam for ages 18 to 55. CoverMe premiums are noticeably higher — you are paying for speed and no exam.
Can I convert a Manulife term policy to permanent coverage later without a new medical exam?
Yes, and this is one of Manulife's stronger features. Family Term is convertible to Manulife permanent coverage, and CoverMe Term is convertible before age 70. Conversion means you exchange the term policy for a permanent one — Manulife Par, Performax Gold, InnoVision or another universal life chassis — at your original health rating, without re-underwriting. That matters if you develop a health condition during the term. The catch is that permanent premiums are far higher than term, so plan the conversion amount rather than converting the full face value.
Manulife's Trustpilot score is 1.2 out of 5. Should that stop me from buying a life policy?
Read what the reviews are about before you decide. The bulk of Manulife's roughly 565 Trustpilot reviews describe group benefits, drug plans and travel claims — high-frequency interactions that generate friction. An individual term policy has almost no touchpoints between issue and claim. The life-specific InsurEye page is more relevant at 1.8 out of 5 across 100 reviews, and it is still poor, mainly on reachability and follow-up. Manulife holds an A+ from AM Best, so the ability to pay a death claim is not the concern. Service is.
How much life insurance can I get from Manulife without a medical exam?
Up to $250,000 of instant coverage through CoverMe Term, if you are between 18 and 55. Above that, or outside that age band, Manulife will underwrite you: Family Term and all permanent products require a medical exam. Applicants aged 56 to 70 can still buy CoverMe but not on the instant no-exam basis. If you need more than $250,000 without an exam, Manulife is not the right shop — iA's Access Life goes to $500,000 on health questions alone, and Sun Life Go Term reaches $1,000,000 on simplified underwriting.
How long do I have to sign up for Manulife FollowMe after leaving my job?
Ninety days from the date your employer group health coverage ends. Apply inside that window and acceptance is guaranteed with no medical questions, subject only to paying your first premium and meeting eligibility criteria. Miss it and FollowMe is off the table — you'd be applying to a medically underwritten Flexcare plan, where a pre-existing condition can mean exclusions, higher premiums or refusal. Note that some third-party sites still quote a 60-day window; Manulife's own current rate documentation says 90. If you're within a few days of the deadline, apply first and sort out the tier later.
Which FollowMe tier actually includes dental?
Only Enhanced Plus and Premiere. FollowMe Basic and Enhanced carry no routine dental at all — a genuine surprise for people replacing a group plan, since dental is usually the benefit they used most. Enhanced Plus covers standard and extensive services at 80% with a maximum that escalates from $700 in year one to $1,000 by year three. Premiere runs $800 to $1,500 by year three and is the only tier including major dental, at 60% coinsurance and with a one-year waiting period. All tiers include accidental dental regardless.
Why do the annual maximums go up the longer I hold the plan?
Manulife escalates several benefit maximums across the first three benefit years — dental, medical equipment and home care all step up. It's an anti-selection defence: it discourages someone from buying the plan, immediately claiming a large expense, and cancelling. The practical consequence is that FollowMe is poor value as a short bridge between jobs and better value if you expect to hold it for years. If you know you'll have new group coverage in six months, you're paying for maximums you'll never reach.
Is there a waiting period on Manulife FollowMe?
Almost none. Manulife's rate documentation states the only benefit carrying a one-year waiting period is major dental on the Premiere plan. Drugs, vision, paramedical, hospital and routine dental on the tiers that include it are all claimable from your effective date. That's genuinely better than several competitors, who impose three- to twelve-month waits on dental generally. The trade-off is the escalating annual maximums described above — Manulife limits early exposure through low first-year caps rather than through waiting periods.
Should I take FollowMe or Flexcare?
If you're within 90 days of losing group coverage, FollowMe, almost always — guaranteed acceptance without medical questions is worth more than any coverage difference, especially if anyone in the household has a health history. Flexcare is the right answer if you never had group benefits, if you're past the FollowMe window, or if you're healthy and want specific coverage FollowMe doesn't emphasise: ComboPlus Basic, for instance, allows generic drugs at 70% up to $5,000 a year, well above Premiere's $2,800. Flexcare asks health questions; Guaranteed Issue Enhanced is the no-underwriting fallback.
What is a Rate Category and why does it decide my stability period?
It is the single most consequential thing on a CoverMe policy and it is not on the marketing pages. Your answers to the medical questionnaire place you in a Rate Category, and the policy applies a different pre-existing condition exclusion to each. Rate Category A excludes conditions not stable in the three months before your effective date. Rate Categories B and C double that to six months, with matching six-month tests for heart conditions, nitroglycerine use, and lung conditions treated with oxygen or Prednisone. Two travellers with identical itineraries can therefore face different lookback windows. Check which category appears on your confirmation.
Will Manulife really pay only 80% if I don't phone first?
Yes. The CoverMe emergency medical policy states that if you do not call the assistance centre in an emergency, you will have to pay 20% of the eligible medical expenses Manulife would otherwise pay — a 20% co-insurance penalty. On a $200,000 US hospital bill that is a $40,000 personal exposure created purely by a missed phone call. The obligation is on you or someone acting for you, so program the assistance number into your phone and give it to a travelling companion. RBC applies a similar penalty at 30% on its Travel HealthProtector plans.
Who actually handles a CoverMe claim?
Not Manulife directly. The policy is underwritten by The Manufacturers Life Insurance Company, which has appointed Active Claims Management Inc., operating as Active Care Management, as the provider of all assistance and claims services. This matters when you read reviews: complaints about slow adjudication are about Active Care Management's process, while Manulife sets the policy terms those decisions are made under. It also means escalating a disputed claim can involve two organisations. If a dispute stalls, the OmbudService for Life and Health Insurance is the external route.
What is TravelEase and should I be on it?
TravelEase is Manulife's individually medically underwritten emergency medical plan, designed for travellers whose pre-existing conditions do not meet the standard three- or six-month stability tests. Instead of banded rating, you complete a full medical questionnaire and Manulife reviews your health history before deciding. The emergency medical limit is still $10,000,000 CDN. It is worth pricing if you have had a medication change, a new diagnosis or a hospital admission in the past six months — but apply early, because the application including the questionnaire must be completed before your departure date.
Who is flatly ineligible for CoverMe emergency medical?
The eligibility section rules out several groups regardless of price. As of both the application date and the effective date you must not have been advised by a physician to avoid travel, must not have a terminal illness or metastatic cancer, must not require kidney dialysis, must not have been prescribed or used home oxygen in the last twelve months, and must never have had a bone marrow, stem cell or organ transplant other than a corneal transplant. If any of these apply, buying a policy anyway gets you a premium refund and no coverage — you need a specialist high-risk insurer instead.